top of page

The witch becoming.

Why did I became a witch?

It all derives from the experience of "loss". It does not come from the fashion, neither trend or as some say of trying to be controversial or crazy. My witchcraft become the strategy of politics and art making. When losing the home, career as well as the community I turned back to the Earth, Nature and the Simplicity that it offers. I believe that witches were always working on subversing the power, confusing the reality, questioning the authority, yet earthquaking the rational mind and the order that patriarchy is trying to establish. The order that is hierarchy, class, position, race, gender or wealth.

I turned to the Earth because it offers me her technologies at no cost. She provides me tools to rebel, confuse and bring peace from the unconditional love that I came from. I chant, dance and make magic using my "intuitive technologies" of resistance that come from my body, from my source, from my heart. Those technologies are the technologies of the body that are extended through: my voice that channels anger, love, compassion and injustice, my limbs that are choreographing the movement of resistance, my heart that is echoing the rebellion while I drum the ancient beat of life. My technologies of the body are operating in the same way as the new technologies creating vibrations and visions, algorithms and spells and ultimately are predicting the future. And this future must be bright, must be tender and must be radical to fight fascism, injustice and patriarchy. The wishful thinking is the hope - it is the algorithm generated from the desire of understanding the future, the desire to know the destiny, the desire to live in wealth, comfort and peace. I turned into magic as my strategy that came from the lack of access to certain things that I could not simply afford. The magic came from understanding the lack of privilege to posses certain commodities that would possibly make me a contemporary artist that is working with new technology.

I became a witch that is using her poor art as rebellion against the neoliberal market of prodution as well as aesthetics of white cube/black oriented fashion of contemporary world. My production is recycling, my identity is shapeshifting, my fashion comes from self-emporment practice, my art is poor and simple so it can be direct and minimalist yet have a tremendous impact on the global geopolitical scale, and here I change the geopolitics into geopoetics, so the world is no borders, and people are creatures with no gender, race or class. The poetic imagination is the space of infinite pleasures and shameless dreams.

Oh, and thanks to my fashion I bring the witchcraft into a new level - a witch that is adorable, divine and has no shame of her beauty neither being a Queen since I came to to the bottom of social hierarchy I have no shame of my hunger for power, wealth and prosperity. This witch is a priestess! This witch is trans_gender, trans_cendental, trans_gressive, trans_human and lives in a celestial "ancient future".

fot. Stan Baranski

|written on my way from PACT Zollverein & Noc Czarnego Mleka — Parlament Ciał w Warszawie, all rights ® reserved|


bottom of page