top of page

DANCING WITH MEN

What is our perception of manhood?

Why is it so important for men to dance?

Why is it so important for men to come together?

What makes us strong and tender at the same time?

How do we share our force, love and creativity?

How do we share affection, joy and desires?

How do we gather as men?

How do we support each other?

How do we heal each other?


This year began with deep dreaming for me, connecting my desires, searching and shapeshifting my identities, and investing time and space to grow, process and share my art with others. As time passes and the nature is awakening I am passionately working on manifesting my dreams, bringing them into corporeality of the world. As a gender_fluid person this year I reconnected with my manhood and explored tender, yet dark forces that were lying deep in its source. As a choreographer and community maker I came up with an idea to create a space for gay, bi & queer man to come together for couple of days and explore our intimacy, sensuality and spirituality in safe and loving enviroment. The word “ness” comes from Hebrew language and it means “a miracle”. With this poetic notion of miracle this retreat Ness for men invites all gay, bi and queer man to share their maleness and fem_ness, joyfull_ness and sad_ness, carefull_ness and throw_ness. The “Ness” in its collective form empowers men to come together as a group and invites men to inspire each other, embody new knowledge, share intimacy, affection, vulnerability and strength, and ultimately to invite men to have mindful connection with oneself and others.

Here you can see the video and listen to the voice of one of the most seminal women in my life, my mentor, teacher, sincere friend and one of the most important choreographers of the 20th century. Anna Halprin and I shared a beautiful, empowering and rich conversation at her legendary dance deck in her Mountain Studio in Kentfield, 45 min drive north from the city of San Francisco.

December 2017

Recorded by Bartolomeo Koczenasz

Thanks to Joanna Klass, Institute of Adam Mickiewicz in Warsaw, Institute of Music and Dance in Warsaw


bottom of page